Intervention: Raids, Your Friends, and You.

It happens to every raider: Your friends want to spend a night on the town and enjoy your company, but it’s raid night and you haven’t told them you’re a Tier 6 bad ass in a virtual world and you’ve got an appointment with 24 strangers to kill some dragon or another. Eventually there is a time when you have to tell your friends that you can’t hang out because you’re a Raider. It’s happened to me a few times, and it’s never any easier to deal with.

Getting my friends to understand that I raid has been a very difficult process. Some of them are former players, and are therefore understanding with my position as a raiding rogue. Others, however, treat my forays into Azeroth as treason, saying that I am putting the game before them. Communication and compromise have helped me deal with my friends who are a little less-than-pleased when I have to leave abruptly to go and raid.

If you’re in the dating scene, it gets even harder. The first date goes wonderfully, and she can’t get enough of you. You start to see each other regularly, but for some reason you can’t talk on the phone after 8:30 on Tuesday or Thursdays and you all but disappear on Sunday afternoon. Some thing’s up, and if you want to avoid any suspicion, it’s best you confess sooner rather than later. Personally, I’ve had a variety of different reactions, and they range from piqued interest to absolute disdain for the game and anyone who plays it. It’s all dependant on the person and how you deal with it. If you’re really lucky, she might even join you in the world of Azeroth!

I’ve even been kidnapped from a raid one night! My friends absolutely refused to allow me to leave them to raid, and being an hour from home, I had no option but to miss out. Although, to be honest, missing 10 hours of Molten Core (and subsequently wiping at least a dozen times on the same trash) was refreshing, to say the least.

I’m curious as to how other deal with their loved ones when it comes to raid time.

~ by veganzombie on May 13, 2008.

5 Responses to “Intervention: Raids, Your Friends, and You.”

  1. I’m lucky, my boyfriend’s just as addicted to WoW as I am. Some things are rather important though, and you can’t just let a raid stomp all over ‘em.
    It’s hard not to get completely sucked in, but keep your head above water.

  2. My ex and I were always at odds. I would come home, want to relax by raiding, while he always worked. If my mind was not always on him, he was pissed.

    Now, my new BF and I play WoW together, which helps when we cannot go out and spend time together. He also understands my raiding needs.

    Solution, find a gamer chick!

  3. Sadly, gamer chicks aren’t all that common. I do have a supportive girlfriend who shows interest in WoW, so it’s not so bad. Honestly it’s amazing that she actually wants to sit and WATCH a raid.. Brilliant.

  4. Same here. Wife was not interested, (even HOSTILE) towards WoW until about 5 months ago. Sat down and watched me raid one day and she got a little interested. Found her rolling a baby mage a few days later and now rolling through Zang lvl 67 building rep and gear with the best of them :)

  5. wow is the devil.

    too bad i don’t believe in the devil…

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

